Sunday thoughts #1: Evangelism for dummies

Posted: November 18, 2012 in believing, fundamentalism, sunday thoughts
Tags: ,

“Believe the way I believe, or be tortured for all eternity.” Few evangelical Christians would ever say this, but they would be surprised to find that this is the net message that many people take away when being “witnessed to” by evangelicals. How about, “Come to me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls, for my burden is easy and my load is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30). Let’s put aside the details of doctrine that divide, and focus on the heart of the matter.

Leave a Reply

