how Mark Driscoll brought me back to God

Posted: January 22, 2013 in believing, fundamentalism, funny shit, Obama, religious laughs
Tags: , , ,

As many of you know, I’m an HEFPASBOMP. (For those of you who are unfamiliar with the genre, that’s a Happy Ex-Fundamentalist/Possibly Agnostic/Skeptical But Open-Minded Provocateur. Duh.)

Or I was.

Until I saw this today, and my entire world turned upside down:

driscoll

I have found God.

For those of you who don’t know him, Mark Driscoll is one of the founding pastors of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, my home town, and one of the world’s most downloaded and quoted pastors ever.

As I read this tweet and felt the compassion, the respect, the grace…something inside me melted, and I finally gave into that still small voice. God has been calling me back for years, but my heart has been hard. Today, however, the love of Jesus, revealed in this simple spoken, well-known and widely respected pastor, has broken down my walls of doubt and fear.

There’s a humility in Pastor Driscoll’s words – a lack of judgement and arrogance – that truly honors Jesus’ call for Christians to be “light in darkness.” Jesus said, “They will know you are mine by the love that you show.” This is SO true.

(Sarcasm alert – code red.)

Comments
  1. Agreed. Hilarious. Sort of a “holier than thou – but especially HIM, over there!”

  2. Joe says:

    Mike – I am very happy for you because you are happy. Generally speaking, I really enjoy seeing other people satisified and happy with their existence and place in life (unless, of course, they derive that happiness from suppressing others or their rights).

    But (and you knew there would be a “but,” didn’t you?) the tweet you include above strikes at the heart of the problem I have with organized religion. As I have told you before, I am agnostic, and generally do not judge people on religious views unless I feel judged by them, because I simply don’t get how anyone’s god can teach them to be intolerant of others. You say Pastor Driscoll’s words are humble, with a “lack of judgment and arrogance,” but what else is the point of what he is saying? if he were truly judgment-less, he would stop after saying “praying for our President” (with a capital P, by the way). It is hard to read the rest of what he says as NOT being judgmental. He is implicitly criticizing President Obama about things, and doing so with knowledge he doesn’t have. He has no basis for saying that President Obama does believe in the Bible, nor does he have a basis for thinking that President Obama doesn’t know God. He could have said, “I don’t think our President follows the Bible as I read it, but my God teaches me to pray for him anyway,” but that is not what he said. How can you read the rest of his tweet as anything but judgment because he thinks President Obama is a godless hypocrite?

    Please do not take this as a slight on Christianity at all. It is a theme that exists in most established religion – – orgainzed religion is primarily feasible because it makes judgments about who is in its group, and who is not. I do not like this, and it is the primary reason that I am a “none.”

    I know that many of your friends will disagree with me and that you probably will, too. I expect to be attacked for writing this, though hopefully not by you.
    Best,
    Joe

    • Mike Nash says:

      Joe, Joe, Joe – my friend with so little guile and meanness in his heart that he has trouble catching sarcasm. Joe, I am the same skeptical, science loving, religion hating guy you know and love. Mark Driscoll is an ass.

  3. rogerwolsey says:

    zen koan: what is the sound of sarcasm happening? ; )

    I’m just glad that there are other ways to be Christian besides Driscoll’s. Blessed to be a progressive Christian. Peace.

    author, “Kissing Fish: christianity for people who don’t like christianity”
    http://www.progressivechristianitybook.com

  4. Joe says:

    HA!!!! That is hilarious. You got me good! That is awesome!

  5. Doug Wilson says:

    Ah, the art of subtle sarcasm. So wonderful to behold. 😉

  6. mirandachop says:

    Never having seen your blog before now, I didn’t catch the sarcasm at first and I was scratching my head. Then I saw the note at the end and your spiritual acronym and I knew I was in the right place. 🙂

  7. Bruce Baker-Rooks says:

    Hahaha!! Driscoll’s comments are horrific! Your posting on this is HILARIOUS!!! 🙂

  8. Ron says:

    I was just about to reply with what a jackass he is. I see that has already been taken care of.

    Folks who knew Driscoll in college (I recently read some comments by a guy who was on his floor, had RD discussions with him, etc.) said he was always criticizing people for not helping others the way he was…that only HE was working with the real broken, hurting, people that needed help. Only HE knew how to do it. He makes brash generalizations he knows very little about and is pulling hordes of people into the working out of his personal issues (he calls it preaching/ministering…but c’mon).

    His song hasn’t changed, and he’s still bullying people into believing a message simply because they want to hear some sort of ‘definitive’ message in a confusing world. He offers that in an arrogant, unapologetic, asinine, I’m-still18-and-raging-against-the-world-and-things-I-don’t-understand way.

Leave a Reply

