Sunday thoughts #12: “I hate you.” Sincerely, God

Posted: February 23, 2013 in believing, fundamentalism, sunday thoughts
Tags: , ,
mark-driscollFrom Mark Driscoll 
(The founding pastor of 
Mars Hill Church in Seattle and
one of the world's most down-
loaded and quoted pastors. Named
one of the 25 most influential 
pastors of the past 25 years by 
Preaching magazine in 2010.)

You have been told that God is a loving, gracious, merciful, kind, compassionate, wonderful, and good sky fairy who runs a day care in the sky and has a bucket of suckers for everyone because we’re all good people. That is a lie… God looks down and says ‘I hate you, you are my enemy, and I will crush you,’ and we say that is deserved, right and just, and then God says ‘Because of Jesus I will love you and forgive you.’ This is a miracle.

So – what do you think of this as a theological position?   Does it make anyone else feel as warm and fuzzy inside as it makes me feel?

Comments
  1. Steve Morris says:

    This man clearly needs help. What kind of horrible childhood could have caused such thoughts?

  2. allegro63 says:

    If Jesus is God, which I believe it is, then such a statement makes God to be schizophrenic. How can God hate you as one persona, and love you as another? Therefore I reject such a concept of deity as detrimental to the welfare of my faith.

  3. Torger Helgeland says:

    He replaces “wrath” with “hate” which seems a pretty blunt deviation. Apostle Paul ? is clear that we are all under God’s wrath as sinners until we submit ourselves to Christ, but “God so loved the world that he gave his only Son…” equals hate??? Seems wacko. Then the business of those who never hear gospel before death… My gut tells me God is a just and loving judge who knows those who are searching, humble etc. and would’ve submitted to Christ given the message of his sacrifice etc. This is my gut, yet I recall I’ve seen a scrip. or two that supported such. I forget which. Surprising to me that such a pastor is so popular. Supports the observation that my pastor and others have made that the social world is hollowing out. Moderates are disappearing and the poles are growing. interesting. Torger Helgeland

Leave a Reply

