a homeschool mom speaks out

Posted: April 6, 2013 in believing, family, fundamentalism
Tags: , , , ,

Click HERE for the full article…it’s worth the read.  (Even if you don’t fully agree.)  Note:  My wife and I homeschooled our four children for between one and eight years each.  We weren’t this sort of homeschool family…it wasn’t really a religious thing…but there has been some negative “fall out,” nonetheless – and many wonderful results, too!     

What do you think???

medium_82945847From the article:

  • Why did we have so many children?  How do you know when your quiver is full?  Would we have had this many children if we hadn’t listened to specific teachings?
  • Who invented the jumper dress?  Why did I sometimes feel guilty if I didn’t wear my denim jumper?  I no longer own a denim jumper.
  • How did I get to the point where I believed that I may be treading dangerously if I was not a member of the Homeschool Legal Defense Association?  How many homeschool families printed out instructions on what to say to government officials  if “they” came unannounced to our door to interrogate? Where did all of this fear come from?
  • Why was I corrected when I said “public” school instead of their preferred “government” school?  Is there an agenda going on? Who is feeding all of this?
  • How did the homeschool movement influence my views as far as who I voted for or how involved I was in politics?
  • How did they convince me that I was eating improperly and I needed to grind my own wheat and make my own bread?
  • How did the homeschool community have the inside scoop before my traditional-schooled friends from church when it was going to become the end-of-life-as-we knew-it during the Y2K scare?  Who brought that hype to the homeschool community?
  • When did I get to the point where I looked down at my friends who were Christians and either sent their children to public or private schools when “they should” be teaching their own?  How did all of this happen?
  • Why do so many homeschoolers balk at immunizations?
  • And why is my husband responsible for my faith and the faith of our children? And why do we have to go through him on spiritual matters?  Does God not speak directly to homeschool kids and wives?
  • Who told me about modesty and how I should be dressing and how my daughters should be dressing?  What does modesty have to do with homeschooling?  Why do all homeschool boys look alike with similar short haircuts?
  • Who convinced me that my children could never “date”, but must only “court” and that my husband gets to choose our children’s future spouses?  How did “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” become such a popular book?
  • Who made up this purity ring ceremony — and that our teen daughters should wear their purity rings symbolizing their virginity until they replace it with their wedding ring?
  • Why are organized sports so wrong?
  • When did Young Earth creation become a primary issue to be a Christian and that if you didn’t believe it, you might not be Christian?   Why are scientists looked at as if suspect?  Psychology is of the devil.
  • What’s with all of those pictures of large families with matching clothes on the covers of homeschooling magazines?  Are my children supposed to be wearing matching clothes?  Who decided that was the right way to dress kids?  Who decided that women should only wear dresses?
  • Why is it that homeschoolers brag about their children being able to interact and socialize well, yet you can “pick them out” a mile away because they look and act so “different”?
  • Who has been instigating the us-vs-them mentality regarding so many of these topics?  Who decided that the only job that we should be teaching our daughters is to be “keepers of the home” and serving their fathers and then serving their future husbands?
  • What single man decided that fathers were an umbrella of authority over the family below God?  What same man also encouraged men and women to get vasectomies and tubal ligations reversed to allow God to control the size of their families and then paraded post-reversal children in front of the auditorium at conventions?
Comments
  1. Torger Helgeland says:

    Yeah, it’s a bummer to be railroaded into something, but what took this person so long to get it? Apostle Paul speaks general moral standards and notes that some are personal, between the individual and God. This person has been driven to reactionary thinking, seems to me, as she or he disses, in scorched earth fashion, even some sensible things. torg

Leave a Reply

